Home » Events » Annual General Body meeting held on 1st September 2017

Annual General Body meeting held on 1st September 2017

General Body Meeting held on 1st September 2017

The Annual General Body meeting of the Academy of Sciences, Chennai held on 01th September 2017 at 3.30 pm. at the Seminar Hall of the   Dept. of Nuclear Physics, University of Madras, Guindy Campus, Chennai-25.
Prof. V. Devanathan, President of the Academy presided over the meeting. Prof. J. Kumar, Executive Council member, welcomed the Fellows of the academy. Prof. R. Asokamani, Secretary read the minutes of the last GB (25-11-2016) and the annual reports.  The Executive council meeting reports were presented by Dr. G. Anbalagan, Joint-Secretary. The Audited Statement of Accounts for the financial year 2016-2017 was presented by
Dr. A. Stephen, Treasurer of the Academy.

 The General Body confirmed and elected the following scientists for the Fellowship of the Academy m as Fellows of the Academy.

  1. Dr. K. Ravichandran, Asso. Professor, Dept. of Analytical Chemistry, University of Madras
  2. Dr. Ramaswamy Murugan, Professor & Head, Dept. of Physics, Pondicherry University
  3. Dr. Sudakar Chandran, Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, IIT Madras, Chennai
  4. Dr. A.M. Ballamurugan, Asst. Professor, Nanoscience & Technology, Bharathiyar University,
  5. Dr. P.N. Sudha, Principal , D.K.M. College for Women, Sainathapuram, Vellore
  6. Dr. V. Natarajan, Director, Research & Innovation Centre (DRDO), IIT Madras, Chennai
  7. Dr. Karutha Pandian, Professor, Department of Biotechnology, Alagappa University, Karaikudi
  8. Dr. M. Prakash, Professor, Dept. of Genetics and Plant Breeding, Annamalai University
  9. Dr. M.Balasubraminiam, Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, Bharathiar University
  10. Dr. S. Arumugam, Professor, Centre for High Pressure, Bharathidasan  University
  11. Dr. K. Ravichandran, Asso. Professor, Dept. of Physics, A.V.V.M. Sri Pushpam College, Poondi
  12. Dr. B. Muthuraman, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Energy, University of Madras
  13. Dr. L. Isaiarasu, Associate Professor, Dept. of Zoology, ANJA College, Sivakasi
  14. Dr. S.G.D. Sridhar, Associate Professor, Dept. of Applied Geology, University of Madras
  15. Dr. S. Abraham John, Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, Gandhigram Rural Institute, Gandhigram
  16. Dr. R. Sathyamoorthy, Asso. Professor and Head of Physics, Kongunadu Arts & Science College
  17. Dr. D. Nedumaran, Asso. Professor, Central Instrumentation & Service Lab, University of Madras
  18. Dr. T. Maiyalagan, Asso. Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, SRM University, Kattankulathur
  19. Dr. A. G. Murugesan, Prof & Head, Sri Paramakalyani Centre in  Envin. Sciences, Alwarkurichi
  20. Dr. Manickam Mahendran, Asso. Professor of Physics, Thiagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai
  21. Dr. L. Jones Tarcius Doss, Professor, Dept. of Mathematics, Anna University, Chennai

New Executive council  members was proposed  for the vacancies: 

Dr. R. Jayavel, Anna University,
Dr. V. Narayanan ,  University of Madras
Dr. C. Venkateswaran, University of Madras
Dr. N. Mathivanan, University of Madras

Special invitee  

Dr. T. Ramasami, Former DST, Secretary
Dr. R. Ramanibai, Univeristy of Madras
Dr. S. Sriman Narayanan, Univ. of Madras
Dr. J. Kumar, Anna University,
Dr. N. Vasudevan, Anna University
Dr. S. Austin Suthanthiraraj, Univ. of Madras
Dr. S. Jayachandran,  Tamil. Govt. Dental College.

The Meeting concluded with the vote of thanks by the Secretary.