Home » Events » Young Scientist Award 2015 Ceremony

Young Scientist Award 2015 Ceremony

Back to Events

11th Mar 2016, Young Scientist Award 2015 Ceremony

Six young researchers from the streams of Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences and Biological Sciences were awarded the Young Scientist Award by the Academy of Sciences, Chennai for the year 2015. The award ceremony was held at Department of Nuclear Physics, University of Madras on 11-03-2016 at 4.30 pm. Padma Shri Prof.  M. Anandakrishnan, President, Academy of Sciences, Chennai, presided over the ceremony. Padma Bhushan Prof. T. Ramasami, Former Secretary, Dept. of Science & Technology, Govt. of India, the Chief Guest of the function, honoured the young scientists and motivated the students & research scholars to uphold the tradition and scientific culture of Tamilnadu.  The recipients of the Young Scientist Award 2015;  Mathematical Sciences: Dr. R. Rakkiyappan, Department of Mathematics, Bharathiar University, Physical Sciences:  Dr. R. KalaiSelvan, Department of Physics, Bharathiar University, Chemical Sciences:  Dr. Subrata Kundu, CECRI, Karaikudi   and Dr. Thanikaivelan Palanisamy, CLRI, Chennai, Biological Sciences: Dr. Rayala Suresh Kumar, Department of Biotechnology, IITM, Chennai and Dr. C. Guruvayoorappan, Department of Biotechnology, Karunya University.  The awardees in each stream were presented with a cash prize of Rs. 20,000/- along with a certificate and a shield. The award was sponsored by Saraswathy Srinivasan Trust.

The awardees presented their work at the congress of eminent academicians. Prof. V. Devenathan, Vice-President, Prof. P. Maruthamuthu, Secretary,
Prof.  R. Asokamani, Treasurer, Executive council members and Fellows of the Academy were also present in the award ceremony.


A. Stephen
The Academy of Sciences, Chennai