Journal of Chennai Academy of Sciences

Volume 3 (2020)

This is a special issue with the contributions from the recipients of Young Scientist Awards (2019)

Contents

Magnetocaloric effect and critical exponent studies in $Mn_{4.5}Ni_{0.5}Sn_3$ alloy - $Nagalakshmi\ R$	1 - 20
Development of biopolymer supported composites/beads for nitrate and phosphate removal from water - Ilango Aswin Kumar and Natrayasamy Viswanathan	21 - 36
Our Research Contributions in Epigenetics and RNA Helicases - Arunkumar Dhayalan	37 - 43
A Review of Solid State Transistor Technologies for future low power high speed and high power applications - D. Nirmal	44 - 54
What every computational mathematician should know - Sivaram Ambikasaran	55 - 71

Note from the Editorial Board

Volume 3 is a special issue of the Journal of Chennai Academy of Sciences, devoted to the contributions received from the recipients of the Young Scientist Awards (2019). Normally, the Awardees are invited to make a presentation of their contributions in the Award function. This year, due to the Corona Pandemic and the extended Lock-down, the Award function could not be held and consequently, it was decided to publish their contributions in a separate issue of the Journal of Chennai Academy of Sciences.

Please find below the list of scientists who won the Young Scientist Awards in various disciplines for the year 2019:

1. Mathematical Sciences (Saraswathy Srinivasan Prize)

Dr. Sivaram Ambikasaran

Department of Mathematics

Indian Institute of Technology (Madras), Chennai- 600 036

2. Physical Sciences (Saraswathy Srinivasan Prize)

Dr. R. Nagalakshmi

Department of Physics

National Institute of Technology

Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu - 620 015

3. Chemical Sciences (Saraswathy Srinivasan Prize)

Dr. N. Viswanathan

Department of Chemistry

Anna University college of Engineering

Dindigul, Tamil Nadu - 624 622.

4. Biological Sciences (Saraswathy Srinivasan Prize)

Dr. Arunkumar Dhayalan

Department of Biotechnology

Pondicherry University. Pondicherry - 605 014

5. Engineering and Technology (Dr. M. Anandakrishnan Prize)

Dr. D. Nirmal

Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering

Karunya Institute of Technology and Sciences

Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu - 641 114